Councils and Commissions


The Parish Pastoral Council is an advisory group of parishioners who meet on a regular basis to assist the pastor and pastoral staff in creating pastoral priorities and future planning. Council meetings are held September – June. Membership is open to registered parishioners who serve a three year term and who are chosen by lottery in June. The Council consists of twelve adult members and one youth representative.

Members: Rev. Gary Michalik (Pastor), Rev. Mr. Gary Pardo (Deacon), Joseph Korotko (Chairperson), Mark Henry (Vice Chairperson), Marie Wheeler (Secretary), Matthew Wolocko (Vicariate Rep), Jim Banar, Lou Fiorentino, Franz Geisz, David Rizzo, R.J. Seaser, Dan Vecchioni, Barbara Walsh-Trapp, Gerard Deans

We have one Youth Representative Vacancy


Since 2011, the Archdiocese of Detroit has mandated that every parish have a Finance Council that is distinct and separate from the Parish Pastoral Council and its Commissions. The Finance Council helps the pastor be a good administrator of the parish finances and properties and to accomplish parish goals. Council members are appointed by the pastor and the Council meets a minimum of six times per year. The Finance Council reviews the annual parish budget and financial report submitted to the Archdiocese as well as regular reviews of spending, the approval of major expenditures, and the study of long range financial planning and development.

Members: Rev. Gary Michalik(Pastor), Greg Boyer (Business Manager), Alex Colton (Director of Maintenance), Thomas Belesky, Shawn Cornelissen, Patrick Healy, Carrie Osborne, Michael Tokarsky


The Christian Service Commission exists as a model and resource of Catholic Social Teaching to enable the entire parish community to put the social teaching of the Church into action. The Commission evaluates, creates and promotes programs that strive to address human needs and achieve justice whether locally or in the broader communities of the Vicariate, region, Archdiocese, state, nation and world. Membership includes respective staff members, representatives from the parish’s many Christian Service groups, and parishioners interested in promoting the Christian Service projects provided by the parish. Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of the month from September – June.

Members: Rev. Gary Michalik (Pastor), Nancy Ohman (Staff), Rosa Compton, Shawn Cornelissen, Brenadette DSouza, Norb Giczewski, Ron Danowski, Cathy Diethorn, Jan Dibasio, Wendy Fiorentino, Reon Glennon, Cindy Harrison, Dana Satraitis, Mary Stafford,


The Worship Commission is responsible for guiding the continuing liturgical renewal of the parish. It serves the parish by providing opportunities for liturgical education and evaluating liturgical ministries and celebrations. The Commission participates in the call for evangelization by its witness of sharing Christ with other through liturgical worship. Membership includes respective pastoral staff members, representatives from the various liturgical ministries that serve the parish and parishioners who have an interest in the liturgy. Meetings are held on the first Monday of the month for September – May.

Members: Rev. Gary Michalik (Pastor), Susan Garr (Director of Music), Ed Lesnau (Chairperson), Al Carbone, Pat Conn, Rick Gignac, Jennifer Kurzeja, Kathleen Sweeder, Mary Kate Rae, Karen Roosen


The Christian Formation/Education Commission assists, promotes, and supports the parishoners in understanding that the entire parish community has responsibilitiy for participating in the evangelization and teaching mission of Jesus entrusted to the Church. The Commission’s responsibilities include developing, promoting and evaluating programs that address all aspects of formation/ education and evangelization, in cooperation with Archdicesan and parish staffs. Membership includes respective pastoral staff members and parishioners interested in promoting the educational opportunities provided by the parish. Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of the month from September – June.

Members: Steve Cordon(Chairperson), Belinda Semak, Ellen Cashero, Don Anderson, John Glennon, Fr. Gary Michalik (Staff), Mary Jo Parnell (Staff), Theresa Lisiecki (Staff)